COQUÍ BOOKS

Call Us At: 919-995-9763
Shopping Cart: $0.00 0 items

Papa and Me

$6.99

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780060581589
  • ISBN 10: 0060581581
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 04/22/2014
  • Trimsize: 9 (w) x 11 (h) x 0 (d)
  • Pages: 32
  • List Price: 6.99 USD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1: JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
  • BISAC2: JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Beginner
  • BISAC3: JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Hispanic & Latino

Buy product

Description

by Arthur Dorros

illustrated by Rudy Gutierrez


ALA Notable Children’s Book

Pura Belpré Honor Book

About the Book

In Papá and Me, a young boy and his papa may speak both Spanish and English, but the most important language they speak is the language of love. In this beautiful bilingual picture book, Arthur Dorros portrays the close bond between father and son, with lush paintings by Rudy Gutierrez. Fans of Abuelo; Abuela; and La Isla will be thrilled by this multigenerational picture book that emphasizes the overall message of love between a parent and child.


Arthur Dorros

Biography

Arthur Dorros views being a writer like being a traveling detective. He finds ideas all around. He learned Spanish while living in Latin America, and many of his stories, such as Abuelo, grow from those experiences. Arthur is the author of many books for children, including Julio’s Magic, a CLASP Américas Award Commended Title; Papá and Me, a Pura Belpré Honor Book; and the popular Let’s-Read-and-Find-Out Science book Ant Cities. He lives in Seattle, Washington.


Rudy Gutierrez

Photo by Sandflower Dyson & Rudy Gutierrez

Biography

Rudy Gutierrez spent many days playing stickball and cards with his father and listening to stories about his life. Rudy’s memories of his dad’s character, honesty, and optimism inspired his illustrations in this book.

Rudy teaches at the Pratt Institute. He received a Gold Medal from the Society of Illustrators and was commissioned to do art for the acclaimed Santana Shaman CD cover. He also illustrated Malcolm X, an ALA Notable Children’s Book. Rudy lives in Bogota, New Jersey.

El trabajo del premiado artista Rudy Gutiérrez se ha exhibido por todos los Estados Unidos e internacionalmente. También creó el arte para la cubierta del CD de Santana llamado Shaman. Rudy es profesor en el Instituto Pratt y vive en Bogota, Nueva Jersey.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Papa and Me”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *